Be Back Soon


zoe!

From the time I made the decision in late September that I’d be doing this trip, to now, has passed by in an instant, and in a few hours I’ll be hopping on a bus with my sister where we’ll make our way to Brooklyn.  I’ll head out to JFK Airport late Sunday where I’ll embark on a good long flight to Seoul, South Korea for customs and a short layover before making my way to the Philippines.  The last time I made it out to visit my relatives in the Philippines was in 2004.  I was there with my family for my grandparents 50th anniversary.  I was pleasantly suprised on this trip too because I was honored as the best man at the wedding ceremony for renewing their vows.  Things will definitely be different this time around with the family not around, but I’m pretty fired up for the warm weather.

It’s been weird these past few weeks telling people that I’m excited about this once in a lifetime trip.  I haven’t really shown it when talking to people because right now, it’s all so bittersweet.  It’s the fact that I’m leaving my family, friends, Zoe and work(again).  All the things I’ve grown to be comfortable with will be tested again over the next several months.  Not that that is a bad thing at all.  If it was, I wouldn’t be doing this trip.

Planning this trip was a bitch only because it took me awhile just to get the nerve to go through with actually committing to it.  Standing in front of the Aussie Embassy for a good 10 minutes with my completed visa application in hand was nerve-racking.  My friends, family, work and of course my concert calendar were running through my head, and then it hit me. when will I ever get the opportunity to something like this again?

I know I’ll look back at this specific post months from now and say, “wow, i still use the word, sike?” or “there really isn’t lasertag in DC”, but for now and until I’m back home, I’ll miss you all more than you’ll know.  Be back soon..

Listening to: Yeasayer, Odd Blood

3 Responses to Be Back Soon

  1. Chrissy says:

    I will miss you terribly. Have a safe trip.

  2. Karen says:

    So… maybe I can’t find a laser tag place in DC. I did, however, find a few places in Northern VA & Maryland… and this mobile one (listed above). Still up for that game?

  3. travelmass says:

    @chrissy – i’ll miss you too. make sure to go to Jared when in need of a boxoffice DJ.

    @karen – outdoor lasertag? count me in! might need to rally up some people since we’ll need 20 people. maybe the kids on the homepage would be game. went to the site’s “online calendar”, looks like poor Tom has surgery today and will be recovering tomorrow! haha.

Leave a comment